405 WALNUT AVENUE
405 Walnut Avenue was built in 1889 for Emanuel G. and Lena Jeanmaret. The Jeanmarets emigrated from Switzerland in 1888 to seek work opportunities at the Elgin National Watch Company. Emanuel worked as a timer for the company. They had one son, George, who was born in 1889.
The Emanuel and Lena Jeanmaret house has Italianate proportions, rusticated native stone foundation, intricate banding highlighted in red clay brick, and stepped brick beneath a prominent front gable. One of 405 Walnut Avenue’s most unique feature is its two-story tower with a pyramidal capped roof centrally located on its east elevation.
Sources: Steve Stroud - There Used to Be; Audio: TextAloud