327 WALNUT AVENUE
In 1882, the last will and testament of Homer Hendee and Marcy Lord indicated property holdings on Elgin’s west side along Walnut Avenue, west of State Street (Route 31). This was later named Lord’s Second Addition to Elgin. Lot 3 of block 11 of the addition was later sold to Charles Pegler, an attorney.
Pegler’s new property sat vacant for 3 years, until 1900, when Pegler divided lot 3 into east and west halves. These two halves became 331 and 327, with Pegler building on the half for 327. He built his own house and mirrored it exactly to build the home at 331.
In 1903, Pegler sold 327 Walnut for $2,700. Two years later the home was again sold, to William and Zella Walker. William worked on the Elgin, Aurora, and Southern Traction Company, an electric interurban railway.
327 Walnut is a later style of Queen Anne. As time went on from the late 1800s, the roof pitch lowered over time, becoming less drastic. Additionally, one and one-half versions of the taller Queen Anne’s began developing with more frequency after the turn of the century.
Decorative wood scale shingles, decoration in the front gable as well as detailing around the windows and a bay window on a side elevation are notable features of the style seen here. Later Queen Annes of this height often see partial rather than full-width porches, but records indicate this porch was constructed in the 1920s, meaning it is an addition considered historic. This front gabled roof with cross gables differs from the more common gable-on-hip roofs of the one to one and one-half story Queen Anne homes but still showcases the cross gabled emphasis.
Sources: 1999 Heritage Plaque Application; Audio: TextAloud